Met officer who survived a brutal machete attack named winner of PFEW’s Police Bravery Awards

A police officer known widely as ‘Britain’s bravest cop’ was last night name the winner of the prestigious Police Federation of England and Wales (PFEW) Annual Police Bravery Awards, sponsored by Police Mutual.

Judges honoured Metropolitan Police officer PC Stuart Outten, who disarmed an attacker brandishing a machete, at a glittering ceremony in London last night. The event recognised the bravery and exemplary acts of courage shown by many police officers across the country in the line of duty.

PC Stuart Outten, 29,  managed to use his Taser to disable an attacker who was armed with a machete.  In the horrific attack, he suffered six deep wounds to his head, skull fractures, and two wounds to his arm and multiple finger fractures.

After the August 2019 incident, PC Outten was treated at the side of the road by fellow officers and paramedics before being taken to hospital, where he underwent surgery. Judges awarded him the winners’ trophy for his incredible courage and resolve while stopping the individual, and for placing public safety before his own.

PC Outten’s attacker, Muhammad Rodwan, 56,  is now serving a 16 year jail term for wounding with intent after what Mrs Justice Carr described as “a brutal and shocking attack with a machete on a police officer carrying out his duties.”

Following the attack, PC Outten said: “My first thought was, I might be in a bit of trouble, and I had to focus on my breathing to stop my heart rate escalating, blood escalating and losing consciousness. If I lost consciousness the Taser could stop, and he could get back up and carry on. My Taser saved my life. If frontline officers want one, they should have one.”

PFEW National Chair John Apter, who personally handed over the Bravery trophy to PC Stuart Outten, said: “We have the finest police officers in the world – dedicated public servants who, without hesitation, put themselves in danger to protect others. They are humble, professional and committed individuals who I am proud to call my colleagues. Police officers are everyday heroes who are anything but ordinary. My congratulations go to PC Stuart Outten and all the Police Bravery Awards nominees. They deserve every bit of recognition they receive.”

Award presenters included Home Secretary, Rt Hon Priti Patel, Kit Malthouse, Minister of State for Crime and Policing, Shadow Home Secretary Nick Thomas-Symonds, Broadcaster and Barrister Robert Rinder, Chief Superintendent Paul Griffiths (Police Superintendents’ Association), Martin Hewitt QPM (NPCC), Kerry McMahon-White (Police Mutual), and PFEW Vice Chair Ché Donald.

In a message of support to the nominees, Prime Minister, Rt Hon Boris Johnson MP said: “As frontline workers in the truest sense, you have been vital in helping us battle Covid-19. I salute each and every one of you for the role you have played. My admiration for you and your fellow officers and staff, already high, has only increased due to the role you have performed over the last 18 months, and I want to take this opportunity to pay tribute to all of the nominees for these Police Bravery Awards for your exceptional achievements.”

Regional winners:

  • Region 1 – North West: Joanna Wilber and Jack Wilber, Greater Manchester Police
  • Region 2 – North East: PS Simon Hogg and Retired PC Paul Cowling, and PC Paul Jackson, Durham 
  • Region 3 – Midlands: PS Amos Durose and PC Kristian Avons, Staffordshire
  • Region 4 – East: PC Geoff Marshall, Derbyshire
  • Region 5 – South East: Unnamed due to role
  • Region 6 – South West: PC Roz Fricker, Dorset
  • Region 7 – PC Richard Shea, PC Matthew Reynolds, North Wales
  • Region 8 – PC Stuart Outten, Metropolitan Police (regional and overall winner)